PNCA Offers #YouAreWelcomeHere Scholarship

September 17, 2018

You Are Welcome Here Scholarship Logo

PNCA joins 57 colleges and universities nationwide to offer the #YouAreWelcomeHere scholarship program, pledging to create scholarships for international students to study in the United States. The #YouAreWelcomeHere program has received commitments from institutions coast to coast, from Maine to Hawaii, and from community colleges to large, public universities. PNCA is the only art and design institution to commit to the scholarship.

The scholarship is a renewable award that covers at least 50% of tuition and it will be extended to at least two students. We support #YouAreWelcomeHere's goals of providing increased access to higher education in the U.S. for talented international students, who will advance intercultural understanding on campus.

In order for students to qualify for the scholarship, they must hold citizenship from a country outside of the U.S. and also not possess U.S. citizenship or permanent residency. Additionally, applicants are expected to be first-year international students, who attended or graduated from a secondary school outside of the United States. The application deadline is December 15, 2018.

More information can be found on the PNCA website or on the online application.

Participating Colleges and Universities

The following colleges and universities have made a commitment to the Fall 2019 scholarship:

1.    Adelphi University (Garden City, New York)

2.    Albion College (Albion, Michigan)

3.    Augsburg University (Minneapolis, Minnesota)

4.    Ball State University (Muncie, Indiana)

5.    Butte Community College (Oroville, California)

6.    California State University San Marcos (San Marcos, California)

7.    Cedar Crest College (Allentown, Pennsylvania)

8.    Clarkson University (Potsdam, New York)

9.    Concordia College* (Moorhead, Minnesota)

10.  Eastern Michigan University* (Ypsilanti, Michigan)

11.  Furman University (Greenville, South Carolina)

12.  George Mason University (Fairfax, Virginia)

13.  Hawaii Pacific University (Honolulu, Hawaii)

14.  Hollins University (Roanoke, Virginia)

15.  Illinois College (Jacksonville, Illinois)

16.  Illinois Wesleyan University (Bloomington, Illinois)

17.  James Madison University* (Harrisonburg, Virginia)

18.  Johnson & Wales University (Providence, Rhode Island)

19.  Kent State University (Kent, Ohio)

20.  La Roche College (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

21.  Lebanon Valley College (Annville, Pennsylvania)

22.  Loras College (Dubuque, Iowa)

23.  Marian University (Fond du Lac, Wisconsin)

24.  Miami University (Oxford, Ohio)

25.  Michigan State University (East Lansing, Michigan)

26.  Murray State University (Murray, Kentucky)

27.  North Central College (Naperville, Illinois)

28.  Northeastern University (Boston, Massachusetts)

29.  Ohio University (Athens, Ohio)

30.  Pacific Northwest College of Art (Portland, Oregon)

31.  Purdue University Northwest* (Hammond and Westville, Indiana)

32.  Rutgers University-Camden (Camden, New Jersey)

33.  Saint Leo University (St. Leo, Florida)

34.  Saint Michael's College (Colchester, Vermont)

35.  Salve Regina University (Newport, Rhode Island)

36.  Seattle University* (Seattle, Washington)

37.  Shoreline Community College* (Shoreline, Washington)

38.  St. Thomas Aquinas College (Sparkill, New York)

39.  State University of New York at New Paltz (New Paltz, New York)

40.  Temple University* (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)

41.  The College of Saint Rose (Albany, New York)

42.  The George Washington University (Washington, D.C.)

43.  Towson University (Towson, Maryland)

44.  Transylvania University (Lexington, Kentucky)

45.  University of Cincinnati College of Law (Cincinnati, Ohio)

46.  University of Dayton (Dayton, Ohio)

47.  University of Maryland, Baltimore County (Baltimore, Maryland)

48.  University of Minnesota -Twin Cities* (Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minnesota)

49.  University of Saint Joseph (West Hartford, Connecticut)

50.  University of South Alabama (Mobile, Alabama)

51.  University of Southern Indiana (Evansville, Indiana)

52.  University of St. Thomas (St. Paul, Minnesota)

53.  University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point (Stevens Point, Wisconsin)

54.  Valparaiso University (Valparaiso, Indiana)

55.  Wayne State University (Detroit, Michigan)

56.  Western New England University* (Springfield, Massachusetts)

57.  Widener University (Chester, Pennsylvania)


*Denotes the nine universities that made the original #YouAreWelcomeHere commitment