Oregon Art Education Association Honors Alumni

September 21, 2015

Congratulations are in order for two distinguished alumni. Margaret Synan-Russell ‘89 and Arvie Smith ‘85 will receive professional awards from the Oregon Art Education Association. Synan-Russell has been selected as the 2015 Oregon Primary Art Educator of the the Year and Smith is receiving a Distinguished Service award.

Synan-Russell is Chair of the Visual and Performing Arts at Oregon Episcopal School and Smith is Professor Emeritus at PNCA.

The awardees were nominated by their colleagues, and their nomination materials were rated through a process of blind adjudication according to specific rubrics from the National Art Education Association. The Oregon Art Education Association will honor Synan-Russell, Smith, and five other art educators at an awards breakfast on Saturday, October 10 at Southern Oregon University in Ashland, as part of its annual two-day professional conference.